Chicken Goujons (wheat-, dairy- and gluten-free)

I finally got around to making this recipe. I am quite plain when it comes to protein…..I have no problem eating plain grilled chicken or plain steak or fish all year round with a bit of lemon juice or spices but I was excited to give this chicken goujon recipe a go since I am obsessed with coconut!

A word of warning: when you are buying desicatted coconut, make sure to check the ingredients and make sure it hasn’t been sweetened.

Serves 5-6

Ingredients:

6 chicken breasts
1/4 cup almond flour
1 egg
Shredded coconut
2 tbsp coconut oil (melted)
(Garlic/onion powder)- I omitted this but in hindsight I think it needed 
the extra seasoning
salt & pepper

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees. Combine the egg, almond flour, coconut oil and garlic/onion powder in a bowl

2. Pour some shredded coconut on a plate

3. Slice up 6 chicken breasts into goujon-style pieces

4. Dip goujon in the wet mixture and then roll in the shredded coconut.

5. Add some coconut oil to a pan and quickly fry the goujons to colour

6. Place the goujons on a baking tray and bake at 180 for 15-20 mins or until ready- (I was baking them on top of a load of carrot and swede with which I was making soup……)

Serve and enjoy!

Nutritional Info*: calories 180; fat 9.5g (saturated 4.4g); carb 1.8g; 
fibre 1g; protein 22g

*The Nutrition info is based on 1/6th of the whole recipe…..I had a good bit of the ‘batter mixture’ leftover so the macronutrient count is a bit distorted and actually slightly less than what I have above in all areas except the protein (as it comes from the chicken only)

On a side not I also made chicken soup again….this time much easier…bought a rotisserie chicken, cut it up and put the roast carrot, swede, onion and chicken in a pot with some stock on a low heat and forgot about it for 40mins



Categories: dinner, lunch

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

