I like things smooooootthhh

So breakfast has become a challenge…..I ve switched to doing my gym classes in the morning (ha ‘switched’…see how long this lasts!!) which means I need to prepare a breakfast I can have on the go and is ready to grab in the morning…..introducing smoothies! Quick and simple, tonnes of flavours and I can prep the night before…..and its super simple to have in the car on the drive to work (yes I have nearly crashed the car trying to eat out of a container before so I have to think about these things!).

I have only one problem with smoothies….its very hard to make one super sweet without adding a tonne of honey or sweetener or fruit……especially since I am trying to keep my fruit intake to a minimum…so I got a bit creative….here are a few ideas…..

1. Hardgainer smoothie!

What’s great about smoothies is you can ‘hide’ stuff in them. For instance my smoothies are always green….yes green…because I add a tonne of spinach to get extra greens in! For people trying to add weight or muscle smoothies are a great way to pack in the good stuff. Here is a smoothie version just for that!

Ingredients

1-2 scoops protein powder (chocoooolllaattee!!!)
1 frozen banana (peel one and shove it in freezer and thank me later)
1-2 tbsp nut butter (almond or cashew are a solid choice)
1 cup milk of choice (dairy/non dairy/chocolate/whatever)
1 cup spinach (you won't taste it I promise!)
1 cup berries (optional)
1 avocado/ 1tbsp coconut oil (other great options
 to get your fats in)

Blend and drinkkkkk (not too fast or you may get brain freeze 🙂 )

 

2. vegetables?! WTF?

Yup I ve been hiding veggies in my smoothie……started with spinach….now i regularly add broccoli…..cucumber….beetroot…..yup i m weird..Here’s what I had this morning

Ingredients

1 frozen apple
1/2 large cucumber
1 cup spinach
1/2 cup almond milk
1/2 cup water
1 scoop chocolate protein

Not too sweet but it hit the spot!

 

3. Juiceeee

Finally I have a juice recipe for you……don’t make these too often because my juice machine is huge and a pain in the ass to clean……taking the whole thing apart after making just one juice is depressing to say the least…..and second juices don’t really fill me……they are a great way to get your veggies in but you lose the fibre content by juicing the fruit/veg and it s a lot more filling to eat two apples rather than juice them no? STILL juicing is a fantastic way to cleanse the body, get some vital nutrients and use up any leftover fruit/veg….plus there are loads of great recipes to use up the pulp that remains (crackers….energy balls….bars…to name a few). Plus its a million times better than shop bought juice

here are a few ideas:

plain apple or orange

apple, celery, ginger

apple, beetroot,

cucumber, celery, carrot

apple, cucumber, celery, ginger

carrot, ginger, beetroot, spinach

Enjoy! It’s certainly making my mornings easier for the time being…..



Categories: Breakfast, snack

Tags: , , , , ,

3 replies

  1. Personally I think that smoothies are great, whether they’re fruit-full or fruit-less they’re still gonna be healthy! When going for a vegetable one, I love adding a bit of celeriac, hasn’t got the same hard qualities as some other vegetables, but hey, that’s just my opinion!

  2. Made this smoothie this morning and it’s defo goign to be my Paleo breakfast going forward! Satisfies the sweet tooth in me – I added mint to it as I had a few mint leaves and it increased the taste 🙂

Leave a Reply

