M.I.A but for good reasons!!

Hi guys….so this has been a super busy week for me and I am really excited to share my news with you. I was in Southampton Monday-Wednesday doing a course on bodyfat measurement called the Poliquin Biosignature Level 1 Certificate.

What it is?

Charles Poliquin (see bio here) is one of the most famous trainers in the world who is responsible for developing the 12-site bodyfat system which basically calculates not only a persons bodyfat but also informs you of what hormone (corisol, insulin etc) is most affecting your body based on the measurements in particular areas….let me tell you this man knows his stuff….like ridiculously knows his stuff! ha

Anyway my 3 days were very intense…..10am-6pm of lectures….learning how to mark each site, how to use the calipers and then practicing (can’t complain here…..90% of those attending were male personal trainers….I ll leave the rest to your imagination but ye basically you did not want to be out of shape at this thing…..god some lads got an awful lashing from Charles himself cracking jokes about their fat composition). The other guests at the hotel had no clue what was going on seeing 60 people stripped down to their underwear, pinching each other with giant calipers!

Aside from that we got a large amount of information on hormones, supplements and a great opportunity to ask Charles millions of questions…the stuff I learnt was invaluable and I cannot wait to share it with you guys!

Something really surprising that I learnt is with regard HCL in our systems….have a read of this and see if it enlightens you… What shocked me most is that most people get diagnosed with overproduction of HCL when in fact it is the exact opposite scenario…..I know my digestion is not optimal at the moment and am consciously focusing on repairing it at the moment with a self designed diet and a lot of bone broth and organ meats…I had the change to do a  HCL test during the course and as I already knew I failed miserably so it is definitely something I am now going to work on..In fact everyone fails…..in all the years of teaching his course, Charles said only 1-2 people ever feel anything after taking just one pill and these people are usually Danish or from Norwegian countries and have been eating healthy for a very long time…..unfortunately it takes from 18 months -5 years to recover your HCL production…bummer but hey what have I got to lose.

And to finish this off a nice treat for you all courtesy of the CrossfitWomen Class (Thank you Karen for sending me the picture and testing the recipe!)

I omit the choc chips as enough choc in them

Double Chocolate Energy Bites (Inspired by this recipe)

Prep time:  5 mins Total time:  5 mins

Serves: 12

Ingredients

1 cup almond butter (or other nut butter)
1.5 cups unsweetened shredded coconut
8-10 dried black figs, stems removed
½ cup Enjoy Life Chocolate Chip (minis) or dark chocolate chips
¼ cup flaxseed meal
4 tablespoons raw honey
2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
1-2 scoops Simply Pure Nutrients Recovery Fuel or 
protein powder of choice
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
pinch of salt

Directions

1. Add all ingredients to a food processor (except for the chocolate chips)

2.Turn food processor on and mix it all up until everything is well broken down.

3. Then add chocolate chips and pulse or use a large spoons

5. Shape mixture into bite size balls or larger….just saying….

6. Place in the refrigerator to help harden.

7. Consume.

8. Keep leftovers in the fridge for up to a week…..they ll never last that long though…..I ll bet you on it…

Feel free to use Dates instead of figs….but only Medjool dates……the others are too hard (can try but soak overnight in water) or covered in sugar (oh god dont get me started on this….why!? like seriously why are they coated in sugar syrup!!! dates are sweet as it is!!!)

energybites

Have a great day!!! TGIF!!!!

Also here’s 73 dinner ideas to tickle your fancy!!! 



Categories: Paleo, snack

Leave a Reply

